Julia Vergazova. Watching art all the time helps me to get a better sense of context.

Ann Radnizky
Art Keepers
Published in
4 min readJul 20, 2022

Julia Vergazova.
Generative artist.
Lives in Düsseldorf.
Owner of many plants.
Would like to get more rest and adjust work-life balance.

Twitter | fxhash

I have been doing art since the beginning of my life.

As a child, I enjoyed drawing comics and graphic narratives. Over time, when I started doing contemporary art, it transformed into a predilection for speculative narratives and inventing universes.

A series of semi-living objects, a techno-bestiary similar to those from Miyazaki’s “Howl’s Moving Castle”. Revived aircrafts combine steampunk aesthetics, the romance of utopia from the movie “Silent Running” and warm lamp watercolor technique.

As for the visual arts, I studied fine art for 5 years before and now I’m finishing my Master’s degree at the Cologne Academy of Media Arts.

When I’m immersed in a process, it is usually important for me to have as few distractions as possible. I like to get caught up in my work, at such moments I sometimes forget to eat and everything else.

Regular structures

Art & Style

I am inspired by the art of other artists, I love going to exhibitions and attending large-scale art events. I recently came back from Venice, where the Biennale is going on, and the day after tomorrow I’m going to see Documenta in Kassel.

Watching art all the time helps me to get a better sense of context.

I have exhibited many times at various venues, including major projects. I have curated several exhibitions myself. Sometimes everything runs smoothly, but in art it’s important to be stress-resistant in the face of the many and inevitably expected fails.

I think you can come to your style through the experience of studying art history, which I like to mix with the possibilities that technology now offers. And perhaps it’s their aesthetics that are affecting me the most right now. I like working with neural networks, exploring what they can provide and the limits of their possibilities.

A house, building, structure is not only an object, but first of all a metaphor for relationships and a certain culture of organizing life.

I like the art scene in Düsseldorf, and there are quite a few galleries, museums and events. There’s a nice collection of video art in the Julia Stoschek collection. Recently, there’s a big exhibition called Worldbuilding, curated by Hans Ulrich Obrist. It’s all about art in the digital age, games and NFT as well. Many of the works impressed and inspired me there.

Entering NFT

During the pandemic it seemed that there would be no more exhibitions or physical events, that the future of art is now in the metaverse. I first tried making and minting nft as part of an experiment, and I didn’t do it on a regular basis. Now exhibitions are more or less back in our lives, but also nft for me is still in it. I can say that now I am even more motivated to continue.

I already have a wonderful collaboration with Nikolay Ulyanov (YulikolaY). Most of the projects we have created together. Nikolay is an expert in machine learning and often guides my reserch in the right direction.

Nikolay Ulyanov / Julia Vergazova, Floating Utopia Act 3, 2022. Photo: A. Kopaz.

We also recently collaborated for the False Spring exhibition in Dusseldorf with Nikolay Jetchev, who helped to populate our utopian universe with strange creatures. Thanks a lot to him for that!

Screenshot from ZECHE virtual environment and exhibition Floating Utopia Act 2, New Now Festival, Essen, Germany, 2021

The NFT community feels like an open and welcoming environment and I am happy to get in touch with people from it every day.

I mostly communicate on Twitter and it’s usually individuals. In terms of platforms, I was recently invited to join a nascent project, which seems very interesting.

Everyone has a chance to meet a contemporary artist not only on the walls of the exhibition hall, but also at the entrance to the gallery. Artists are already among us.

Don’t miss out new conversations with NFT artists. Subscribe to our curated digest on Twitter at https://twitter.com/@rtkeepers

--

--