Fallen Angel (1847) by Alexandre Cabanel

Art Legends
Art Legends in History
3 min readMay 12, 2022

--

The Fallen Angel painting is an art piece created by Alexandre Cabanel that captures when Lucifer, also known as Satan, falls from Heaven. The artwork is 7.6 feet high and was completed in 1847. The subject of the painting is one of the most critical events in history; it depicts the fall of Lucifer, who was considered to be God’s most beautiful angel.

About the Artist: Alexandre Cabanel

Alexandre Cabanel was an accomplished academic French painter. He was born in September of 1823 and died in the year 1889. His artwork consisted of religious, historical, and classical nature.

He attended École des Beaux-Arts in Paris to study art at seventeen. He had his work featured at the prestigious Paris Salon in 1844. In 1864, he had the distinction of being appointed a professor at École des Beaux-Arts.

He had the chance to mold the minds of many artists. He was one of Napolean III’s favorite artists and purchased his work, “The Birth of Venus,” for his collection. Alexandre Cabanel was very influential at Paris Salon. He served as a judge for numerous art competitions.

Subscribe to our blog

Hey guys! I am working hard to provide commentary on the art of our human civilization. You get an opportunity to see artwork from some of the most brilliant minds in art history.

My goal is to make people feel better by reminding everyone that there is beauty in this world. Sometimes, we need to look at something pleasant, unique, and startling to take our breath away and feel that we humans have a purpose.

I am by no means a professional in the art history field. I come from a business and technical background. I started to fall in love with art later in life. I wanted to learn more about the past artists and some of their artworks. I started learning about different artists throughout art history, and I have not stopped exploring.

All of the paintings that I find are available in the public domain. Many art galleries worldwide have contributed their art pieces to the public domain. I want to thank them for allowing us to share their masterpieces on this blog.

Art makes me happy. I want to share my joy with you and put a smile on your face. I like to interject humor in my artwork commentary. When you subscribe to my blog, you will get a curated analysis of my views of how a painting makes me feel. Please join our community and let us bring joy back to this world. I can not do this alone. Take care, my friends!

Originally published at https://www.artlegends.org on May 12, 2022.

--

--