Peasant woman, head (1884) by Vincent van Gogh

Art Legends
Art Legends in History
4 min readMay 26, 2022

Vincent van Gogh Quotes

“What would life be if we had no courage to attempt anything?”

“I often think that the night is more alive and more richly colored than the day.”

“If you hear a voice within you say ‘you cannot paint,’ then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.”

“For my part, I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.”

“I am still far from being what I want to be, but with God’s help, I shall succeed.”

“There may be a great fire in our hearts, yet no one ever comes to warm himself at it, and the passers-by see only a wisp of smoke.”

“There is no blue without yellow and without orange.”

“The more I think about it, the more I realize there is nothing more artistic than to love others.”

“A good picture is equivalent to a good deed.”

“One must work and dare if one really wants to live.”

“Painting is a faith, and it imposes the duty to disregard public opinion.”

All quotes are from Vincent van Gogh

The source of all quotes is from BrainyQuote

About the Artist: Vincent van Gogh

Vincent van Gogh, a Dutch painter who is generally considered to be one of the greatest artists of all time, was born in Groot-Zundert, a small village in the Brabant region of Netherlands, on March 30th, 1853.

Van Gogh was a son of Theodorus van Gogh, a protestant pastor, and Anna Cornelia Carbentus, a moody artist who demonstrated immense love for nature and from whom Van Gogh possibly inherited his exceptional skills in drawing and watercolors.

Van Gogh completed over 2100 paintings, out of which 860 were oil paintings, while the remaining 1,300 were sketches, drawings, and watercolors.

Some of his most famous paintings include “Starry Night,” which he created in 1889, a year before his death, while in the asylum in France where he stayed at Saint-Remy-de-Provence.

Van Gogh sought asylum after he deliberately chopped off his ear with a razor and the people of Arles signed a petition which indicated that he was dangerous to the public.

Van Gogh’s emphatic brushwork and striking use of color continue to influence the wave of Expressionism in present-day art. No wonder the artist amassed remarkable popularity when his paintings sold at record-breaking sums in various auctions across the globe.

Subscribe to our blog

Hey guys! I am working hard to provide commentary on the art of our human civilization. You get an opportunity to see artwork from some of the most brilliant minds in art history.

My goal is to make people feel better by reminding everyone that there is beauty in this world. Sometimes, we need to look at something pleasant, unique, and startling to take our breath away and feel that we humans have a purpose.

I am by no means a professional in the art history field. I come from a business and technical background. I started to fall in love with art later in life. I wanted to learn more about the past artists and some of their artworks. I started learning about different artists throughout art history, and I have not stopped exploring.

All of the paintings that I find are available in the public domain. Many art galleries worldwide have contributed their art pieces to the public domain. I want to thank them for allowing us to share their masterpieces on this blog.

Art makes me happy. I want to share my joy with you and put a smile on your face. I like to interject humor in my artwork commentary. When you subscribe to my blog, you will get a curated analysis of my views of how a painting makes me feel. Please join our community and let us bring joy back to this world. I can not do this alone. Take care, my friends!

Originally published at https://www.artlegends.org on May 26, 2022.

--

--