Meet Laura Kupac | Artist Finding Stability Living with Homelessness

ArtLifting
ArtLifting Stories
Published in
4 min readJul 8, 2019

“As soon as I got home from the hospital one of the first things I tried was painting. I knew my drawing ability had been affected but I could not imagine never painting again so my style changed considerably. I stopped focusing on drawing and started to work with colors and textures. I would love to make this my career.” — Laura Kupac

ArtLifting artist Laura Kupac based in Oregon| Joined ArtLifting in August 2016

Laura Kupac is originally from Brazil. After debilitating health issues in 2013 — two brain aneurysms and a stroke — she had to relearn basic life skills such as walking, taking, dressing, and feeding herself. Her drawing skills were seriously affected due to damage to the parietal part of her right brain and she initially thought she would never be able to paint again. With a lot of discipline and effort, Laura is developing her current style. Her creations are a reflection of her determination to overcome her new challenges. Art has helped Laura regain her confidence and self-esteem while adapting to the changes in her life.

ArtLifting artist Laura Kupac’s “Storm Flowers”

Formerly a resident of Seattle, Laura has relocated to Cave Junction, Oregon, where she was able to secure housing. She has used art as a form of rehabilitative therapy to help improve her coordination, mobility, and to relieve anxiety and stress. She is constantly experimenting with different art materials and techniques to make it easier to create since the entirety of her art must be done with one hand.

ArtLifting sat down with Laura to learn more about her art inspiration, creative process, and why she does what she does.

Laura Kupac’s studio in Oregon
ArtLifting artist Laura Kupac’s “Silver Lining”

1.What sparks a desire to begin a piece and how do you know when it’s complete? Further describe your creative process.

I describe the desire to create as an urge, like eating when hungry. I don’t control it, it controls me. I’m constantly looking at everything looking for inspiration, and it is everywhere. I contemplate whatever catches my eye for a while, analyzing colors, textures and shapes trying to figure out why it’s attractive to me and how I can translate it to canvas. Then suddenly, I feel the the urge and start a new piece. I have overworked many pieces and ended up ruining them. I have learned to listen to my instinct and stop, let it hang on the wall and speak to me for a while before signing it, which is how I determine when a work is finished.

2. When did you start painting? How has it impacted you overtime? Do you paint for a deadline or for herself?

I’ve been passionate about color for as long as I can remember. As a little girl, I collected my Dad’s parakeets feathers and starred at the colors. One day I saw a watercolor set and just had to have it. My parents saw the urge and got it for me. My work has to please me before anyone else. I can’t be rushed or pressured into creating, only inspired. Painting has been the major tool in my recovery. It allows me to realize that I can still offer something to society, it boosts my self-esteem and inner strength.

3. How has your art changed over time, if any. What type of paint do you use, and why?

As a teenager I started with oil realism. After the stroke I had, to keep it simple, I took up acrylics and abstract. I am, however, attempting a return to the less toxic walnut oil based oils, because I find blending is easier with the longer drying time and I miss the impasto effect I enjoyed before. I find a need to constantly challenge myself and my art.

ArtLifting artist Laura Kupac’s “Autumn”

4. Does art keep you grounded to keep moving forward, or did you find this platform (art and creativity) in a place of need, found you were good at it, and then continued on?

I don’t think I would be in a good place today if I hadn’t had my art to hang on to. I am sure I was meant to follow this path and life found an extreme way to make sure I stuck to it.

Laura Kupac’s current collection with ArtLifting may be found here.

--

--

ArtLifting
ArtLifting Stories

A platform for artists living with homelessness and disabilities to find self-empowerment through the sale and celebration of their artwork. | USA