Our Little Preferences #2

Jessica M. Lee
ArtMagazine
Published in
1 min readFeb 26, 2017
Midnight Harbour. Sai Kung, Hong Kong

Fragmentation
of our lives.
Every details
speaks volumes.

Same city,
different time zone.
Every good night to me,
is another good morning to you.

180 Meridian

You are a man of science.
Radiochemistry,
Nuclear medicine.
Built-in rationality.

I am a woman of philosophy.
Communication,
art-house cinema.
Sensuality in disguise.

Our identities,
façades of representation,
curated with dedication.

Sentiment,
is our common disadvantage.
A flaw in the system,
a fly in the ointment

The way,
you see through your brown liquid,
is my way I see through my translucent smoke.

Dimensions frozen,
physics no longer effective.

That night at your place,
over jazz music
and delicate cuisine.

I saw you,
looking straight at me,
piercing through my soul.

I knew,
but I never speak of it.
We are pretty much the same,
despite our preferences.

--

--

Jessica M. Lee
ArtMagazine

I spent too much time explaining myself. HK Original.