Ekphrastic Sestina

Early Sunday Morning

We will speak about the shadows

Gary Chapin
ArtMusing
Published in
2 min read4 days ago

--

Edward Hopper, Early Sunday Morning, 1930 (wikipedia Public Domain)

Shapes
in light
make shadow.
Shadows speak.
Colors become buildings.
The storefronts are stories.

The barber pole? A story.
Window shapes,
water plugs, curbs built
by suggestive light.
We will speak
about the shadows,

Those long shadows,
lines I’ve been unable to take my story
across. Like in a folk tale, they speak
a warning. What shapes
lie behind low eastern sunlight?
What omens are built

into these buildings?
The shadows
are all over them, and the lights.
How does my story
figure in? Why do I love these shapes
when it is loneliness they speak?

Often, we speak
stories into church buildings,
sacred shapes
or the shadows
in forest groves. “Wrong stories,”
I say, “Don’t confuse morning light

--

--

Gary Chapin
ArtMusing

Poet. Humorist. Storyteller. MuddyUm editor. I write. I have always written. I play accordion. I have an extraordinary ability to be fascinated by things.