5 Things I Admire About Japan

Gabrielle Scrimshaw
Art of Sake
Published in
3 min readAug 3, 2016

I’m now in my third week in Tokyo, and just over the halfway point of my internship at the Art of Sake. Having travelled around Tokyo and Kyoto, I thought I’d share a few reflections about the things I really admire about Japan.

1) Efficient & Orderly Public Transit

Maybe it’s because I’m an infrastructure nerd, or come from a city with terrible public transit (looking at you, Toronto) —but I really do love the efficiency of the train system in Japan. Payment is super easy with a reloadable card system, and you can even use the card in other cities and use it to make other purchases such as snacks. I’ve been able to get to most places in Tokyo within 30 minutes and travelling to Kyoto (320 miles from Tokyo) only took me 2 hours. Major win.

Also, things are super orderly. You learn pretty quickly that if there’s a crowd, there’s a line to organize it. Simple things have lines like getting onto the subway, or going up/down an escalator. As a type-A personality, I definitely appreciate the order it provides.

2) Some of the Best Food in the World

Afuri ramen in Ebisu, Tokyo

One of the things I was looking forward to the most about Japan was the food. And it has not disappointed. Not only is it delicious, it’s also very cost effective. A full meal of sushi can be purchased for less than $10, and the same goes for most other meals. I’ve been able to eat three meals a day on about $20 a day, which is what I’d generally pay for one meal back in the U.S.

I’ve also been on a search for the best ramen and have been eating it every other day. So far my favorite stop is Afuri in Ebisu, 100% recommend it if you have a trip to Tokyo soon.

3) Lush Greenery, Finding Some Zen

Although Tokyo has among the highest population densities in the world — venture to smaller cities or rural areas and you’ll be welcomed by lush greenery. I took a weekend trip to Kyoto and enjoyed walking around Arashiyama. Surprisingly, when walking through a park I was able to get 10 minutes alone to meditate and enjoy the sounds of nature, something that would have felt next to impossible in Tokyo. I find it amazing that you can find these two extremes so close to one another, and the scenery leaves you feeling refreshed and zen-ful.

Local fishermen coming to shore as the sun sets in Kyoto.

4) Toilets

If you’ve travelled to Japan before, you know exactly what I’m talking about. Everything from toilets that make nice little nature noises, light up, have heated seats, and of course, the basic automatic flush (pretty much a given). Don’t fret about using public toilets here, they’re probably cleaner and more advanced than the ones you have at home.

5) Beer as a Liquid Appetizer

It’s a very Japanese thing to order a beer before you order ‘your main drink of the evening.’ It’s generally the first drink you order, and as a beer lover I love this simple, refreshing, tradition. Especially when it’s 90 degrees with 70% humidity. I call it my appetizer of beverages and will definitely take this tradition home with me.

After the beer arrives, a quick cheers of “kampai” and then enjoy!

--

--

Gabrielle Scrimshaw
Art of Sake

Storyteller. Dene. Advocate for all things Indigenous. Stanford MBA (’17). Harvard MPA (‘18).