Photo by Datingscout on Unsplash

House Music’s Shocking African Roots:

What You Didn’t Know About Your Favorite Dance Genre

A Williams
ARTS o’ MAGAZINE
Published in
3 min readMay 18, 2023

--

Well, maybe not so shocking, house music is more than simply a musical genre. It’s a way of life. As a fan of house music, I can vouch to its passion and motivation on any dance floor. However, many people are unaware that house music has extensive origins, notably in African music.

The first time I heard house music, I was captivated. House music suddenly became more than simply music to me; it became an experience. It’s a sensation that you receive deep down in your soul, an emotion that can only be discovered on the dance floor, surrounded by others who share your feelings.

It wasn’t until I started researching the history of house music that I understood how big of an impact Africa had on the genre. the House music’s polyrhythmic rhythms and concentration on the dance floor belong to the characteristics of African music, particularly West African music. This insight increased my appreciation for music. Knowing that house music has profound origins in African culture only adds to the genre’s complexity and depth.

What I enjoy most about house music is the energy and atmosphere it provides to any dance floor. Everyone comes together to dance and feel the music, making it a community experience. It is not about individualism; rather, it is about group energy.

House music is more than simply music. It’s a sensation, an experience, and a way of life. And it has profound origins in African culture, notably West African music. As someone who enjoys dancing and feeling the excitement of house music, I consider myself lucky to be a member of a community that shares my enthusiasm for the genre.

If you are not already a member of Medium you can become a Medium member through this referral link it supports our publication and it also gets you full access to every story on Medium.

ARTS o’ Magazine exists to feature the world’s budding & timeless art scene, AIR’s Resident and ‘Local AIR’ Artists…

© AIR Artist in Residence

FOLLOW SUBSCRIBE WRITE FOR VISIT AIR

--

--

A Williams
ARTS o’ MAGAZINE

Creative SoulChild!!! Art, Film, Music, Broadcasting. You name it. I love it!