SELF AWARENESS / SELF IMPROVEMENT

One Thing Competitive Goal-Oriented People Can Do to Find Contentment in Daily Life and Avoid Burnout

Yahnny Adolfo San Luis
ARTS o’ MAGAZINE
3 min readFeb 14, 2024

--

Created by Author (not taking myself too seriously).

When I was 38, I experienced a profound shift in perspective after participating in what would be my final triathlon.

I attended the race alone, fully aware that it marked the end of an era. Despite the solitude, I felt an unusual sense of peace, knowing in my heart that it was time to close this chapter. The decision to make this my last race didn’t stem from a lack of love for the sport but from a deep-seated realization.

For all my life up to that point, I was a competitive athlete, always pushing myself to the limits, striving for perfection in every race, every sponsorship, every training session. But I was burned out from taking myself too seriously, from the constant pressure to outdo myself, always be ‘on,’ and always perform at my peak.

This realization was a slow burn. The intensity with which I pursued my passions began to take its toll, not just on my physical well-being but on my ability to connect with others. Relationships felt transactional as if every interaction was another competition to win. My relentless drive for perfection made me uncomfortable with showing vulnerability and admitting to failures or weaknesses. I found…

--

--

Yahnny Adolfo San Luis
ARTS o’ MAGAZINE

I help stressed adventure travel CEOs spend less time at the desk and more time outdoors. Top Writer on Medium for Photography and Education.