My First 3D Design

Arunoda Susiripala
Arunoda Talks
Published in
2 min readJan 12, 2018

As I mentioned previously, I’ve been printing a lot of stuff with my Tevo Tornado. Most of the time, it’s something I downloaded from Thingiverse or from a 3D designing tutorial.

Yesterday, I made my first 3D print that I designed. Let’s have a look.
(Okay, it’s nothing fancy.)

The Tissue Box Problem

In my car, I keep a tissue box on the dashboard. This is how it looks.

But, after I take a corner, here’s how it looks. Pretty bad, right?

The Solution

I want it to stay on the left side of the dashboard.
So I 3D printed this:

Bed looks weird. Did a little surgery.

I mounted this on the dashboard top with double-sided tape, and this is how my tissue box looks now.

Now the tissue box doesn’t move around as I take corners, and I can easily replace the box when I need to.

It does the job pretty well, but I should’ve printed it with Black to go with the color of the dashboard.

--

--