Who are we?

Introducing the City Modelling Lab team!

Gerry Casey
Arup’s City Modelling Lab
4 min readNov 15, 2021

--

Visualising Multi-Modal Interchanges in Dublin, Ireland

The team has grown. We wanted to update (Version 4!)

In alphabetical order:

Nick Bec. I’m the Business Lead for the City Modelling Lab. I’ve a background in maths, computer science, operational / operations research, management consulting, and capability development. This mostly means I do lots of things that enable delivering our projects and research, such as managing our recruitment pipeline and team planning. I’m responsible for developing our offer for clients, defining project scopes, and then managing delivery of some of our projects.

Paola Bueno. I am a researcher and consultant with experience and passion for the analysis of social and distributional consequences of transport planning decisions. I lead the Social and Equity growth area and I have spent the last 10 years learning and exploring novel and better ways for measuring equity.

Gerry Casey. I’m interested in evidence based decision making and modelling for enlightenment, not post-justification. I’ve an academic background in agent based modelling with a focus on sustainability and not boiling the planet.

Theodore Chatziioannou. I am a data scientist with a background in transport planning and economic appraisal. I am interested in leveraging diverse analytical techniques to inform decision making and support sustainable urban and regional development.

Ella Dahan: I’m a Product Manager with a background in operations research and advanced analytics. Creating data-driven products is my happy place — and using those products to drive a more sustainable and equitable world makes it meaningful.

Michael Fitzmaurice. I’m a software engineer with a varied background that includes building, maintaining and operating software in the retail, higher education, broadcast media and online betting & gaming industries. At Arup I have spent the past couple of years developing software to solve transport-related problems.

Kasia Kozlowska. I’m a data scientist with background in mathematics and mathematical physics. I enjoy graphs, optimisation problems and writing code.

Neil Montague. I’m a data scientist with a background as a transport planner and civil engineer. My work in recent years has focused on large-scale data analytics and visualisation to generate insights that inform major sustainable transport projects. My particular interests include geospatial analysis, interactive data visualisation, and conveying insights from data analytics in an accessible way.

Divya Sharma. I am a data scientist with a background in supply chain management and analytics. I have a passion for utilising data to drive policy changes, with the recognition that the best solution is one that comes from interdisciplinary alignment. I am specifically interested in a systems approach to equitable, sustainable transport solutions.

Fred Shone. I make coffee and get worked up about stuff. I love tackling a big problem and dragging people in with me. My experience is with data science, transport and economics.

Kharesa-Kesa Spencer: I am a data analyst with a background in chemistry and data analytics, I have a keen interest in transport, sustainability and the cross over between tech and urban environment. I manage the team’s traffic insight tool and I have spent the last 4 years learning and working on deriving insights from data and pulling together visuals and results.

Yuhao Sun. I am a Data Scientist with a background in intelligence manufacturing and data-driven approach. I have been mainly working on the Agent-Based Model for different transport projects. Beyond the ABMs, I am passionate about using data analytics and machine learning to deliver novel solutions to complex problems.

Panos Tsoleridis: I am a transportation planner with a background in disaggregate behavioural modelling. I am interested in uncovering aspects of individual behaviour and latent constraints, which would have an influence on mobility-related choices. My aim is to assign those behavioural rules to the agents and see how they interact within the system, but also to understand how the system itself will change in the long-term as a result of those interactions.

Gone but Not Forgotten — Our Distinguished Alumni

Claire Fram. I’m a product manager with a background in information science and user experience design. I lead the development of new, data-rich products within Arup. I’ve been working with transportation and city planners for the past 5 years at Arup.
Claire now works for Diagonal!

Anastasia Kopytina. I am a Transport Data Scientist in the City Modelling Lab, where I am currently focusing on the networks component. My academic background is in Economics and Spatio-temporal Analytics. Outside of ABMs, I am interested in machine learning, recently completing my thesis on applications of computer vision to urban mapping.

Rory Sedgwick. I’m a cloud engineer with a background in Javascript application development & marine biology (ask me about cephalopods). I’m interested in infrastructure-as-code, containers, and supporting domain-specific problem solving through cloud technologies. I’ve been working alongside transport modellers at Arup for the last 4 years.

--

--