All you always want to know about Ajmer (through the heart of a writer)

hydrated gabru 💧
Arz Kia Hai Communities
3 min readMar 3, 2018

It’s my first ever Medium post, I have a lot more to share but starting with this one particularly. I belong to the heart of the land of Kings, Rajasthan — Ajmer. It was established by Chauhan dynasty’s ruler ‘Ajayaraja’ by the name of ‘Ajayameru’. It’s been my hometown n current city from last 21 years. It’s also the base for the ‘Brahma nagari’ Pushkar, where the only temple of Lord Brahma in the world exists.

:- by hotelchitvan.com

Ajmer Dargah Sharif of Khwaja Garib Nawaj is the fatal attraction of our district. Along with it, there is Anasagar lake n its nearby Baradari n Chaupati n then, there is Foy Sagar lake. These are some of the major venues to visit here. From childhood till now, I love to visit these places with friends, family n a bunch of strangers who meets during the trip.

:- by garageadventures.in

As a child, I also loved to go to the different fests n fetes organised throughout the year. Majors like in May, the ‘Urs ka mela’ is there n October brings the ‘Pushkar mela’ itself. Except major fests, there are others like Ajayapal, Tejaji fests etc. I’ve always been a fan of ‘Faluda’ n ‘Pani-puri’ there, smiled to see how cotton candy is made.

:- by sharmispassions.com

Talking about food, Ajmer is famous for its ‘Curry-Kachori’. Apart from ‘Dal-Bati-Churma’ which is of course the official taste bite of Rajasthan, ‘malpuha’ from Pushkar, ’til papdi’ from Beawer, ‘Kachora’ of Nasirabad, ‘Pahariya’ namkeen from Kishangarh are what Ajmer’s nearby areas got to serve. I can’t resist eating them without licking my fingers.

:- by allevents.in

Back in January 2015 when for the first time, Ajmer literature festival’s concept had been bought. I still remember the vows n glows of the event organised by sir Rasbihari Gaur who is famous for his satirical poetries. Ajmer literary society is collaborating the writers, legends n enthusiasts under one roof year by year through it.

:-fb.com/arzzkiahaii

Memories are captured in both pics n hearts from the city. These fuels me up with energy n I decided to utilise it in literature with respect to my interests. Couple of months ago, I got to join ‘Arz Kia Hai’, the community of writers — poets n shayars. Through this, I came to know about some pioneers of their own writing styles. Some of which with their noticeable works are:-

Anant Bhatnagar, released poetry series depicting the evolution of relationships
• Sufi expert, Bakshish Singh. Wrote “Darwaaze girvi rakhe hain”, “tukda — tukda khayal” and “Dastak” in Hindi, “Badla te likhi ibadat” in Punjabi.
Poonam Pandey, organises writing workshops in association with Rajasthan literature academy
• Padma shree awardee, C.P Deval
Convener of Rajasthani Advisory Council of Sahitya Akademi. Wrote Pachhatava, Mrityu Kisi ko Darati Nahin, Mrityu se Mat Bhago, Vipathaga.

Not only them, I came to know about fella writers like Ahsan Mohammed, Rukhsar, Bhavya n many more from nearby areas to catch up with. I find their initiative very useful cos it’s incarnating the writer in people back from the world where financial aid have became priority.

Ps: If you have any other doubt or query about Ajmer and it’s literature scene or anything other connected interest, do comment! I will try to answer it to my best.
Edited by: Karsh, Community Convener (Arz Kia Hai)

--

--

hydrated gabru 💧
Arz Kia Hai Communities

Drink 8 glasses of water everyday 🥤; Twitter/ Instagram:- iprady_