Angel Nduka-Nwosu
As Equals Africa
Published in
2 min readNov 28, 2020

--

sorta an ode to groomers.

(or those who spin tales on maturity at lagos writers parties).

Artist Name: MKobyArt. Source: Pinterest

my body is not your rite of passage.

it never was.

it never will.

young blood.

how-did-you-learn-to-ride-so-good-at-your-age blood.

you-are-very-smart-and-i-like-my-women-smart blood.

one thing even those who teach on soul ties will not tell you is that seeking respite beneath the bodies, between the legs and from the lips of (older) men is no guarantee that millenial zaddy wisdom will speak peace to the parts of your soul hurting from a lifetime of invasions.

but my body is not your rite of passage.

it is not a place you come

to test new waters asking

is this one fresh enough to

cleanse my pain without turning to salt?

it is not a place you build castles

in hopes that one day you

call a feast of your friends

celebrating a woman whose

life contains rooms only

made to house your words and anger.

i am a woman unto myself.

before darkness ever was,

there was a garden of light

thriving so much it almost

upset the balance of universal

laws of creation.

i am a woman unto myself.

i have always always known

how to carry myself to the water

cleansing and speaking love

even upon the bits of me that are

broken and magnificent.

This is day 4 of my 16 day writing project for #16DaysOfActivism and #OrangeTheWorld. Please click on my stories if you would like to check out some of my other entries.

Resource List of Young Nigerian Women.

Illegalizing Abortion Is An Act Of Violence Too.

--

--

Angel Nduka-Nwosu
As Equals Africa

Nigerian. Medium Top Writer In Feminism. Journalist. Editor. Finalist: YNaija Inaugural Difference and Diversity Award. Commissions? 📩angelndukanwosu@gmail.com