As She Writes

How I Overcame My Creative Crash

Mental clarity is integral to creative success, and it’s time you realize taking care of yourself is your pathway to fulfillment.

As She Writes
Published in
4 min readFeb 3, 2021

--

Photo by Lucija Ros on Unsplash

You’re finally starting to see success. It’s a wave of thrill, fear, and anticipation, but you push past your hindrances to deliver time and time again. Everything’s good until you start sacrificing more hours of sleep, forgetting to eat breakfast because you’re pumping out as many words as possible, and soon you crash.

You think that it’ll just be a minor setback, that you’ll sleep it off and get back to work the next morning, but you don’t. You’re stuck, and the fear begins to set in. The doubt clouds your judgment, and you lose faith in your abilities as a creative.

This was how my creative crash happened. For a while, I never thought that I’d get back to where I was before the exhaustion, the creative obstacles, and the anxiety, but I overcame it in a way that allowed me to stop reverting to those old, bad habits.

Letting go of my past mistakes

I first figured out that things had significantly changed when I couldn’t even get out of bed to write for ten minutes, or the thought of publishing another…

--

--