AS SHE WRITES

How to Find Clarity in Your Creative Work

Overcoming the fear of losing my spark and dreading failure wasn’t easy, but now I know it’s possible.

Published in
4 min readJul 27, 2020

--

Photo by Taisiia Stupak on Unsplash

I thought I lost my spark. My fingers froze every time they met my keyboard, and I felt absolutely awful about the creative work that did make it to the page.

I lacked clarity.

My mind was clouded with negativity, believing that I had no choice but to give into watching all my hard work evaporate into nothingness. For a while, I didn’t know how to write anymore, and as a writer, that was terrifying.

I looked at every new project with dread, convincing myself that I was going to fail, and that trying would only make me feel worse. I had no idea how bad it had gotten until I received the first piece of negative feedback that I’d had in a while. It wasn’t that my work wasn’t liked, it was that they called attention to something I didn’t even see, that I seemed withdrawn.

They mentioned that I didn’t sound like myself anymore. All the liveliness that was present in my creative work before had dissipated, leaving a shell of empty storytelling that wasn’t pleasant to read. It was hard for me to hear because it was true.

--

--