Movie Review: A Nightmare on Elm Street 5: The Dream Child (1989)

https://www.movieposter.com/poster/MPW-21290/Nightmare_on_Elm_Street_5_The_Dream_Child.html

Just like the last movie in the series, this picks up right where the previous movie left off, picking up with the surviving characters and also introducing a bunch of new characters to get killed off. True to the recent trend, these deaths typically relate to the only character trait that these characters have.

This is a fun movie, but I wouldn’t call it good. It’s got some creative dream sequences that are a lot of fun. Unfortunately, there’s nothing in this movie that’s really scary. Take the dream sequence in the guy’s comic book, for example. It’s a fun scene, taking inspiration from a-Ha’s “Take on Me” music video and vintage comic books. But look at Super Freddy.

http://nightmareonelmstreet.wikia.com/wiki/Super_Freddy

It’s far more goofy than scary.

The plot is a bit of a mess, but I ended up liking the protagonist, Alice (Lisa Wilcox) enough to make me care at least a little bit. I really didn’t like her performance in the previous movie, and she’s a lot better here. I actually had to check to see if it was the same actress, like they did with Kristen between the third and fourth movies, because she looked a little different, and I thought she was good in this movie. I was surprised to find it was the same actress.

This movie’s a good time. It’s not really trying to be anything more than that, but I sort of wished it was. I wished it attempted to be scary. The goofy one-liners are too over the top in my opinion.

http://www.triskaidekafiles.com/reviews/2018/2/1/a-nightmare-on-elm-street-5-the-dream-child-1989

I must say, though, the climax is a big letdown. I think the movie, as convoluted as its plot was, was setting up something better than what happened in the end, but I’m not going to say more than that.

Rating: 5/10

--

--