Movie Review: Arcade (1993)

This Tron ripoff had a lot of potential, but ultimately fails in its special effects. And Tron is partially the reason for this, apparently. Disney had threatened to sue Full Moon, so they basically just ran out of money and as a result, the effects are just atrocious.

This movie involves a virtual reality video game that starts to take over the minds of a group of teen friends. And where the effects truly fail, I actually really enjoyed this group of friends. I found their dynamic quite enjoyable. The cast is pretty good.

I wanted to like this movie a lot more than I did, but I just couldn’t, with how ugly its effects are. It’s rare for me that effects completely ruin a movie, but this is an example of that, because it’s pretty enjoyable whenever there’s not an effect scene.

Rating: 5/10

--

--