Movie Review: Bog (1979)

There’s no reall way around it. Bog sucks. It’s one of the dullest monster movies I’ve ever seen, and even though it has some actors who have been in legitimate things, nobody in it seems to know how to act. There are some truly awful line deliveries, and it seems like for whatever reason, they were unwilling to do a second take.

I do like the setting for this kind of movie. I think a shitty rural bog area has a lot of potential, especially with a cheap ’70s aesthetic. But this is no The Legend of Boggy Creek, and no Swamp Thing. It’s just pretty bad. And not that it would have made a huge difference, but the monster’s barely in it.

On second thought, maybe that’s for the best. Because the monster is one of the worst looking ones I’ve seen outside of really early Roger Corman movies.

So while it’s dull and quite frankly very bad, it’s not completely without its charms. I think I’m just a sucker for low budget ’70s stuff that looks like it’s been made collectively by an entire small town.

Rating: 3/10

--

--