Movie Review: Borat (2006)

I think Borat is somewhat a victim of its own popularity. The Borat impressions were so frequent that even as an 8th grader, I had found them annoying, and that was before I saw the movie. Nevertheless, this was appointment viewing for me and my friend who couldn’t watch R-rated movies back when it came out, as we went ahead with a sleepover with another friend who owned the DVD.

Borat is quite funny. Borat is quite funny as a character, of course, but Sacha Baron Cohen’s strength as a performer in these kind of mockumentary scenes is his ability to just kind of sit back and let other people embarrass themselves, and then play off of that.

If you haven’t watched it, you should definitely get on that. But something about it doesn’t make me want to revisit it all that much. This is the first time I’d seen it since that fateful night in eighth grade, and that’s just fine with me. It’s kind of disturbing in a lot of ways, and the grossout humor isn’t my favorite.

Rating: 7/10

--

--