Movie Review: Buffy the Vampire Slayer (1992)

I really know nothing about this show, but I understand this movie’s quite different from it. And I must say I’m surprised by how much I enjoyed this movie, even though it’s not like I loved it or anything like that.

I do really like Kristy Swanson as Buffy, actually. She’s a surprising amount of fun, even though the character is a bit too ditzy.

The supporting cast is pretty notable, as well, though not always great. Donald Sutherland is sort of your Obi-Wan type, as he trains Buffy and recognizes her potential. Rutger Hauer’s a vampire of course, as is Paul Reubens.

But I like the random appearances by future stars here. Ben Affleck plays an uncredited role on an opposing basketball team. Seth Green’s in there somewhere. David Arquette and Hilary Swank, of course.

This is also just about the most ’90s movie I’ve ever seen, with its music and fashion.

It’s not the funniest movie out there, but it has its moments. Unfortunately, though, the dramatic moments are completely undercut by how infrequently it takes itself seriously in the “horror” scenes.

Rating: 5/10

--

--