Movie Review: Cemetery without Crosses (1969)

When it comes to westerns, I like them like I like my pizza — Italian and aesthetically beautiful.

So I was a bit hesitant with this movie. It’s Italian, but it’s also French, and with a French director in Robert Hossein (who also co-wrote and stars in the movie), so I’m assuming that explains why I’m not watching an English dub.

Hossein

And it’s not like your average spaghetti western. It’s a lot more like a Leone film (which may seem like the average spaghetti western to someone less well versed in the genre, since his movies have aged by far the best). It’s slow, kind of brooding, and with lots of long, long takes where not much happens.

I daresay were it not a spaghetti western, this would probably be considered an art film. I think that’s appropriate, anyway.

The plot isn’t that exciting. The gunfights are fun, but there aren’t too many. It’s far more a western drama than it is an action western. But I’m just okay with that, when the movie’s as well made as this is.

Rating: 7/10

--

--