Movie Review: Dead Again (1991)

I love Kenneth Branagh, and I love this film for all its faults. It’s a downright baffling followup to his directorial debut, Henry V, which if you ask me is one of the greatest films ever made. This is so weird and odd and wild that I just am not really sure what was going on. I get the sense he was trying to become an American movie star more so than he was trying to direct a great film.

Both he and Emma Thompson abandon their British accents, at least in the present. Because they also play characters in the past, who were married. It’s a truly weird story involving reincarnation, amnesia, and hypnosis.

And yet it’s incredibly entertaining. The story goes incredibly over the top, and yet it mostly works. The direction is strong, and the plot twists are frequent and genuinely surprising.

The movie’s complete and utter nonsense, but in the best kind of way. There’s a reason I thought of this movie back when I saw Malignant.

Rating: 7/10

--

--