Movie Review: Deadwood: The Movie (2019)

--

Deadwood: The Movie is just fine, but feels kind of pointless. I guess it feels less pointless than The Many Saints of Newark, so if we’re talking about HBO continuations of hugely popular shows, this is a win.

Most of the original cast is back, except for of course Powers Boothe, whose absence is really felt. I was hoping for more Ian McShane because of this, because they played similar characters in the original series, but McShane’s part wasn’t particularly big.

I’m actually shocked they got Jeffrey Jones in the movie. Like why would anyone want to work with that piece of shit at this point?

Anyways, the movie’s fine. It’s quite talky, it’s quite vulgar. And everyone’s looking pretty old.

It feels like more of the show, but that’s not what I was hoping for, I guess, since the show ended prematurely. I was hoping for something more eventful, I guess.

Rating: 6/10

--

--