Movie Review: Drive Angry (2011)

--

Having just recently seen Machete and then watching this, I must say that when it comes to grindhouse/exploitation homages, I greatly prefer this kind of movie. It feels less like a throwback because it does have a modern touch to it (not just the 3D, but the rest of the style). And while there are plenty of laughs, the movie is never truly an action comedy. It just winks at you while you watch it.

Listen — I’m an easy man to please. If you give me an appropriately dumb, insane plot; the ridiculously beautiful Amber Heard; a talented supporting cast including the great Tom Atkins and William Fichtner; and Nicolas Cage rocking some of the weirdest hair in his career, I’m going to have a good time. I’m not going to apologize for that.

I put this on intending for it to be a background movie, something that I’d have on while I was tending to other shit. And yet it grabbed me almost instantly. It’s not great, but it is insanely enjoyable.

Rating: 7/10

--

--