Movie Review: E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982)

E.T. is basically a perfect movie. It’s incredibly emotionally moving, and is one of the best examples of Spielberg’s skills as a director. It’s thrilling, mysterious, touching, and very family friendly.

Of all the classic Spielberg movies I grew up with, I probably watch this one the least, and I don’t really know why. It’s every bit as good as Jaws or Raiders of the Lost Ark or Jurassic Park, and to be honest, it probably works on more levels than those movies do. Those movies are all incredibly well done, but they’re movies designed to thrill and excite you. E.T. has that, it has the trademark Spielberg sense of wonder, and it’s moving.

And I’m just going to say it. This is John Williams’s best score. It’s definitely his best Spielberg score, and I think it’s better than anything he’s done for the Star Wars series.

Speaking of Star Wars, this has a far less offensive re-release. The special edition for this movie has definitely taken some shit, but I really don’t mind it too much.

Sure, it’s dumb that Spielberg wanted to get rid of the guns at the end, but I don’t really find it affects the movie too much. And the better special effects overall are an improvement.

I’ve watched the original version just now on Netflix, but it’s probably the first time in a long time that I haven’t watched the 20th anniversary version. This is one of those examples where I think it’s definitely fine to watch the special edition. If you have the option, it’s not going to affect the movie too much, and there are a couple of scenes that are nicely added.

What I find interesting about this movie is that it would still work as a compelling family drama if there was no alien. Dee Wallace is great as a single mother a bit in over her head, and Henry Thomas is excellent as Elliott, her youngest son. I also like Robert MacNaughton as his older brother, and how can you not love Drew Barrymore in this movie?

It’s charming beyond all belief, and like I said, it works just fine without any kind of supernatural/sci-fi/fantasy element. But it’s of course enhanced by that.

The first time Elliott’s bike flies, it’s truly amazing, and one of the best scenes Spielberg has ever done, as well as being accompanied by one of the best themes John Williams has ever done.

And it comes back, of course, in one of my favorite climaxes in film. I love seeing how resourceful all these kid/teen characters are, and them biking away from all these government officials is really great.

The actual creature itself is remarkably well done. You fully buy it as a living thing, and that just makes the movie work all the more.

Rating: 10/10

--

--