Movie Review: Elvira: Mistress of the Dark (1988)

--

I’ve known about Elvira for a long time, but have never actually watched anything with her. I guess I mean I’ve heard of her, I’m familiar with the look. I wasn’t at all familiar with her act, but as a Joe Bob fan, I’m curious in things like this.

I have no idea if this movie is an appropriate vehicle for her persona. It’s basically a lot of sex jokes, but not your typical sex jokes. PG, kind of family-friendly sex jokes, basically. It’s a little strange.

But with Cassandra Peterson’s commitment, it’s also certainly watchable. The plot doesn’t matter, a lot of the comedy is lame, but Peterson makes the most of it in her role as Elvira. Her comedic delivery makes some pretty lousy jokes actually work, though she can’t save every line.

This movie was more of a curiosity for me than anything. Who is Elvira, and why should I care? This movie did an okay job at answering both those questions.

Rating: 5/10

--

--