Movie Review: John Wick (2014)

I don’t know why on earth it’s taken me about six years to finally see John Wick, one of the most critically acclaimed action movies in recent memories, but anyways, I’ve finally seen it. And it’s good. I can see what everybody’s on about, but I was still a bit disappointed.

There’s little to no plot, which is sort of the point. It’s basically just action, and when done well (The Raid, Crank), that can be a beautiful thing.

The movie’s pretty stylish, though maybe a bit too much. Some of the musical choices were a bit annoying, and it felt like the movie was trying too hard to be cool at times. Which is unfortunate, because in the lead role, Keanu Reeves is absolutely effortlessly cool.

Anyways, it’s a very good movie, though perhaps a step shy of great.

Rating: 7/10

--

--