Movie Review: Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom (2018)

I went in to Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom knowing it’d be stupid, but just hoping for entertainment. I’ve given up on Jurassic Park movies being smart or even genuinely good.

And you know what? This movie delivered what I expected it to deliver. It’s entertaining, and incredibly stupid. It might even be dumber than Jurassic World, which is saying something, but I think it’s also about as fun as that.

The movie basically has two plots, and the first one is essentially a remake of The Lost World: Jurassic Park, while the second one plays out almost like a horror movie. While the second half is dumber, it’s nice to see a different environment for the dinosaurs to interact in, and there are some effective scenes.

It’s a really good looking movie, with some nice cinematography and fantastic visual effects. The new genetically engineered dinosaur in this movie looks a lot better than the indominus rex from Jurassic World, but I’m sure I’m not the only one who would just rather see real dinosaurs wreaking havoc. I think that’s a very disappointing thing about how this series has gone, but I think it’s just a reflection of where big action movies have gone.

I liked a lot of the scenes in this movie, though the characters were as shallow as could be. Chris Pratt brings a natural likability, but can’t completely save the movie, of course. I think if you like dinosaurs, if you like monster movies, you’ll probably like this one at least a decent amount. It definitely has its flaws, though. Don’t expect a whole lot out of it.

Rating: 6/10

--

--