Movie Review: Midnight Offerings (1981)

I really didn’t know anything about this movie other than it was made for TV, and Dana Kimmell (Friday the 13th Part III) is in it. She’s great. Despite her somewhat low billing, she’s a pretty important character, and is kind of the main antagonist. At least I think.

To be honest, I wasn’t sure who I was supposed to be rooting for here. There’s witchcraft, there’s high school drama, and I think I’m supposed to be rooting against Kimmell’s Lily, but her scenes with David (Patrick Cassidy) are some of the best scenes of the movie. She has really great chemistry with him, and she’s just too likable to really root against, even if she is supposed to be bad.

And I’m not even certain I’m right there. The version I had was poor quality, and to begin with, there are already a couple of actresses that look alike. Like Melissa Sue Anderson was definitely the evil one, right? But Dana Kimmell was definitely doing witch stuff, too.

This is a movie about witchcraft, which came as a bit of a surprise for me. I guess I didn’t really know what to expect.

But really more so than that, it’s a film about teenage relationships, and this could be a good thing or a bad thing, depending on how you look at it. I didn’t enjoy it all that much, though it’s not poorly made, and it has some compelling scenes.

Rating: 5/10

--

--