Movie Review: Miracle (2004)

Miracle isn’t quite a perfect movie, but it is a remarkably good one. It has some familiar sports movie cliches, and it is definitely guilty of making the Miracle on Ice into a bigger political issue than it should have been, but the filmmaking is still really compelling.

Kurt Russell excels as Herb Brooks. It’s a different kind of role for him, and it’s really the first thing I ever saw him in. He’s good, even if his Minnesota accent sounds a bit goofy at times. He did such a great job that I really can’t imagine another actor in the role.

The decision to cast hockey players instead of actors really pays off when it comes to the hockey footage, which is very entertaining. And their performances aren’t bad.

As for the filmmaking, hockey is probably already my favorite sport to watch, but I can’t imagine a more difficult sport to film, given how everything is on ice. This movie makes you feel like you’re there throughout.

If I have a complaint, it’s that there’s probably one montage too many. And I guess the home stuff with Herb Brooks isn’t that compelling. But the movie is entertaining and well made.

Rating: 9/10

--

--