Movie Review: O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2000)

I’d describe this movie as charming. I have a big problem with the Coen Brothers making two movies (this, and Inside Llewyn Davis) as loose adaptations of Homer’s Odyssey, considering they’ve admitted they haven’t read it, but whatever, it’s a fun movie (and this is more evidently based on that than Inside Llewyn Davis is).

It’s got a strong cast that handles the kind of odd, quirky tone quite well.

George Clooney is always a joy, and you’d be hardpressed to find two more adept actors at handling the Coens’ writing than John Turturro and Tim Blake Nelson.

This movie’s amusing. I don’t think it’s anything particularly special. It has its funny moments, but it’s a bit too silly for my taste in parts. But I love the washed out tinted cinematography, the Southern folk soundtrack, and just the overall feel of the movie.

Rating: 7/10

--

--