Movie Review: Pumpkinhead II: Blood Wings (1994)

I still love the Pumpkinhead monster costume, but unlike the first movie, it feels a lot more like a guy in a costume here, and a lot less like a real creature.

It still doesn’t look bad, but I just think maybe it’s not shot as well, which is weird, because Jeff Burr is a veteran director, unlike the director of the first one. But he does have Texas Chainsaw III on his resume, so I guess I don’t know how “veteran”he is.

I really appreciate the Linnea Quigley cameo here. There are plenty of cameos here, including Kane Hodder, and while I normally don’t like that kind of thing in horror movies, I think a gratuitous sex scene and then death with Linnea Quigly really works to sell that this movie isn’t anything to be taken seriously.

But that’s kind of unfortunate, too, because I think the original is worth taking seriously, as inherently silly as it sort of is. It was just so much better executed, with awesome and moody cinematography. This just has the look of a ’90s TV show.

Rating: 4/10

--

--