Movie Review: Rat Race (2001)

I have a lo tof nostalgia for this movie, and it’s too long of a story to explain everything. But basically we had a weekend at a cabin with a bunch of old friends we hadn’t seen in years, but the weather was awful, and this was like the only DVD we had, so we watched it over.

And over.

And over again. So much so that I think we all had it memorized for a few years.

I’m not arguing it’s a great piece of art or anything, but it still holds up for me. The cast isn’t as good as I thought it was when I was a kid, but Jon Lovitz is absolutely hysterical, and Rowan Atkinson is so over-the-top that you can’t help but love him.

The movie really does have an awful ending, but up until that point, it’s pretty great. Highlights include the Jon Lovitz family stopping at a Barbie Museum only to find that it’s a museum dedicated to a devoted Nazi, Seth Green’s brother being unintelligible to everyone else because he pierced his own tongue, and Cuba Gooding, Jr. being stuck on a bus with a bunch of Lucy impersonators.

It’s a fun movie.

Rating: 7/10

--

--