Movie Review: The Island of Dr. Moreau (1977)

--

This movie isn’t a complete disaster, but I don’t think I can get much more complimentary than that. I wouldn’t think it’d be a difficult novel to adapt, but going off of the numerous not very good film adaptations we have of it, perhaps I’m wrong.

It’s the classic mad scientist story, with the mad scientist here being played by Burt Lancaster.

Lancaster’s a very accomplished actor, but I found him to be very unconvincing in this role. It’s just not a good fit for him.

Equally unconvincing is the monster makeup, which looks more funny than scary or realistic.

It’s just not very good.

Our everyman hero here is Michael York (Logan’s Run), playing Andrew Braddock. He’s probably the best part of the movie, though he’s not fantastic.

Well really the best part of the movie is one of the monsters fighting a tiger.

The scene goes on for a very long time, and it’s quite exciting.

Rating: 5/10

--

--