Movie Review: The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn — Part 1 (2011)

Each time I see a movie in this series, I’m just looking for things that they do better here than in the other movies. Because these aren’t good movies. They’re not the worst things I’ve ever seen or anything, but they’re just not very good, and this one isn’t an exception.

And it does a few things better than the other movies. It has a few well constructed scenes, actually. I quite liked the flashback scene where Edward is watching The Bride of Frankenstein at a movie palace before murdering a bunch of people he thinks are molesters.

Other than that, I’ll give this movie a bit of credit for being pretty graphic for a PG-13 movie. The sex is far from explicit, but it’s still more than you’d see in a lot of movies like this, I think.

Otherwise, there’s a lot of tonal whiplash. I don’t know what we’re doing with all the pointless side characters. I don’t remember them being dumb comic relief in the past. We have a few moments of conflict between Bella’s parents at the wedding that go absolutely nowhere. The movie is a mess in a lot of ways. And that baby is the stuff of nightmares.

Rating: 2/10

--

--