Movie Review: The World’s End (2013)

The last film in the critically acclaimed “Cornetto Trilogy,” The World’s End is a fun sci-fi action comedy that ends up being very character driven and more emotional than you’d expect it to be.

The opening scene sets the movie up so well that I’m just going to include it here.

The rest of the movie follows these same characters having a reunion that was essentially forced upon them all by Gary King (Simon Pegg) in their old hometown, only to find that nothing is as they remember. That’s at least partly because the town is run by robots.

The Pegg and Frost chemistry is definitely there, and the energy of Edgar Wright’s direction is once again a highlight. It’s a fun, unrelenting movie. It has plenty of laughs through plenty of different means; there’s physical humor, some good witty stuff before everything is going wrong, and just the Gary King character himself is so pathetic and funny.

I’d need to see the other movies in the trilogy to properly rank this. It’s no HOt Fuzz, and I’ve only seen Shaun of the Dead once, so I can’t really say if I like it more than that or not. I think this was the first of the trilogy I had seen about four or five years ago, and it certainly didn’t disappoint.

Rating: 7/10

--

--