Movie Review: Twilight Zone: The Movie (1983)

--

I saw this movie when I was younger, not long after I had seen every episode of The Twilight Zone, and considered it my favorite show. I was incredibly disappointed, so I was curious to see it a second time.

I both like and dislike the fact that this movie remakes classic episodes. It wisely avoids the all-time classics — sure, there’s “Nightmare at 20,000 Feet,” but they’re not doing “Time Enough at Last” or “To Serve Man.”

But the remakes don’t really hold candles to the original, in ways that I can get into later.

And to be honest, the best part of the movie is the least connected to anything Serling-related, with that opening scene with Dan Aykroyd and Albert Brooks.

It’s a really great scare, but it doesn’t feel at all like The Twilight Zone.

Our first real segment is of course the most controversial: “Time Out,” directed by John Landis. It’s a passable segment with an obvious message that becomes hard to watch with all the behind the scenes stuff.

For those that don’t know, star Vic Morrow and two child actors were killed in a helicopter accident when John Landis…

--

--