Second Viewing: Crawl (2019)

Crawl is some dumb shit, but it’s ultimately quite entertaining. When I first saw it, I described it as a perfect mix of the High Tension Alexandre Aja (there’s one scene in particular here that I’m thinking of) and the Piranha 3D Aja. And I still stand by that, to a certain extent.

It’s a tense horror thriller with a solid lead performance from Kaya Scodelario.

But it’s also dumb schlock, reminiscent of Piranha 3D even if the laughs don’t seem to be entirely intentional. It’s an absolutely ridiculous movie, which to a certain extent you expect from the premise.

But the first half feels a lot more grounded than the second. The movie dives a little too roughly into ridiculousness, and I must say that I enjoyed it better when it was a little more straight.

Rating: 6/10

--

--