Second Viewing: Godzilla vs. Kong (2021)

--

Don’t get me wrong. I like this movie. It’s a hard movie not to at least get some enjoyment out of. It’s dumb popcorn fun, and it’s good at what it’s trying to do.

But I’m going to be pretty negative here because I did find this movie incredibly disappointing. Some of this stuff might sound a bit like nitpicks, and some of it definitely comes down to personal preference, so I’m going to frame this by saying that I’m a Godzilla fan, not really a King Kong fan.

I love the 1933 King Kong movie, of course. It’s a masterpiece. But were that the only Kong movie, I wouldn’t be too upset.

Godzilla is my fucking jam. From the original ’54 film, through all the schlock, he’s brought me so much joy.

And he continues to here, even if he gets his ass kicked every now and then.

This is a movie where Godzilla is very much the antagonist and Kong is the protagonist. It’s probably a smart move in the sense that one of them definitely needs to be the…

--

--