Second Viewing: Ring (1998)

Apparently Ring is the more accurate title than Ringu, though I kind of like Ringu just because it makes it more clear that you’re not talking about the American remake. And I bring that up in part because from my recollection of the American remake, this movie is remarkably similar. I’m sure there are nuances in the differences and all that, but both movies have the same kind of feel.

This one does have a little bit of psychic premonition stuff or whatever, which I guess makes it different.

The actor who really steals the show here is Hiroyuki Sanada, playing the ex-husband. He has such a naturally intense face, but he’s still able to communicate so much about their relationship just with a few looks.

The movie’s pretty awesome. It might be better than the American version. I’m not sure. Each time I’ve seen either one of the movies, I feel like it’s been too long since I’ve seen the other one to make a decision.

Rating: 7/10

--

--