Second Viewing: Savage Streets (1984)

You really have to admire the sleaze here. Danny Steinmann, director of the most exploitation-y Friday the 13th sequel, has here directed one of the greatest exploitation cult classics of the 1980s.

Starring Linda Blair and a whole bunch of other beautiful women (including Linnea Quigley), it’s a rape revenge movie set in a high school, with a gang of girls going after a gang of guys.

It’s blunt, stupid, and one of the sleaziest movies I’ve ever seen. And that’s why I like it. John Vernon is great as like the dean in charge of discipline or maybe he’s the principal or something. It doesn’t really matter, I guess, but it allows him to yell and swear at these kids, so that’s great.

And then there’s Linda Blair. I’ve been on record that I don’t think America was ready for a super attractive Linda Blair, when your first thought of her is as the little girl in The Exorcist. But goddammit, she was an exploitation queen in the ’80s.

Incredibly attractive and equally bad, she’s just something else in this movie. I wouldn’t want any other lead, even with my love of Monique Gabrielle being well documented.

So it’s a bad movie, but it’s uniquely bad, and quite entertaining.

Rating: 5/10

--

--