Second Viewing: Vertigo (1958)

Vertigo is simply a masterpiece. There’s really no other way to put it. For a long time, I’ve said that Psycho is my favourite Hitchcock movie, while acknowledging that this is his best, but I’ve changed my tune. This is my favourite film by my favourite film director.

Vertigo is a flawlessly made psychological romantic mystery drama. There may be no other film like it in terms of its story, or its presentation.

It’s truly haunting, and I have to credit that to both the score by Bernard Herrmann (which I consider to be his best), as well as to Jimmy Stewart’s performance (also his best, and maybe the best in all of film).

Stewart is so unbelievably good.

He’s our protagonist, but as the movie goes on, we feel more and more uncomfortable with his growing obsession. He’s a tragic victim, but he’s often times far from sympathetic.

This is certainly among the greatest films ever made.

--

--