TV Review — Tales from the Crypt

Since I was first aware of this series, I was very interested in it. When my family got HBO for the first time several years ago, this was the first thing I looked for on HBO Go, and was incredibly disappointed to see that it wasn’t there (there’s some rights issue or something, so I don’t know if even HBO Max will ever have it).

But eventually I decided to buy the first season, to see if it grabbed me. And it sort of did.

This is an anthology series that aired for seven season from 1989 to 1996, and it’s pretty entertaining, despite a weak seventh season. Heavily inspired by EC comics, each story is introduced by the Crypt-Keeper, who many would say is the best part of the series.

I wouldn’t go that far, but he tends to be a lot of fun. He’s also kind of confusing, because his presence makes this show seem like it’s appropriate for kids. He’s got a wry sense of humor and is big on puns. But then you see the show, and it’s absolutely not for kids. So a little weird there.

The real highlight here is the gore, and the makeup effects. I was a pretty young kid for most of when this show was running, and this is just so beyond anything I would have seen on television at the time. It really makes the most of HBO’s budgets and lack of restrictions on what’s suitable for television, being a premium cable network.

The show would get some notable actors to guest star, and occasionally struck gold with people who weren’t yet super famous (notably Daniel Craig and Steve Coogan).

But really, you watch it for the gore, and the shocks. It had its ups and downs, and I can’t say it ever produced a truly great episode (and it did have some stinkers), but it’s quite an enjoyable watch overall.

Rating: 7/10

--

--