Open Letter to Sharmeen Obaid

Asad Memon
Asad Memon
Published in
1 min readOct 26, 2017

I try not to involve myself in political and controversial discussions. I keep my head down, work silently, and look at the positive aspect of everything. But it seems you are directly undermining my life’s goal.

Sharmeen Obaid, your net contribution to this nation is only negative. If you want to highlight problems with Pakistan for personal gains, sure go ahead. Free speech. But it’s then your duty to be equally vocal about the positive aspects of Pakistan. Otherwise your loud work just undoes all our collective efforts to improve the image of this country.

You might be the only Pakistani to win the Academy Award. But at the cost of defaming Pakistan internationally! We even foolishly awarded you Hilal-e-Imtiaz.

Sure we have our problems. I don’t disagree. But so does everybody else! But that’s not the issue. I am not against your work of highlighting problems with this society. My problem is that you doing only that!

--

--