How I Hack Strikingly.com & get 12-months Pro account for FREE?

Azlan Shah
Asas Lab
Published in
3 min readJun 2, 2016

Yeah that’s right. I got it for FREE? How I did it? You want to know? Then read this post until the end. Don’t skip.

Strikingly Referral Campaign

Few months ago, I want to build a landing page for my startup called Fuudy to validate my idea. You can check my startup here bit.ly/thefuudy. I have limited budget and looking for a way to make it for free. At the same time, Strikingly did a campaign “Invite Your Friends, Get Strikingly Pro for Free”. If your friend signup to Strikingly, you will get 3 months Free PRO account and you can claim up to 12 months. Clearly, this is a growth hacking campaign. They want to increase user sign up and convert existing users into customers.

I invite all of my email list (more than 300 emails) but only 1 sign up. That is a 0.33% conversion rate!

Nothing is perfect. Everything has a loophole

Then, I notice a loophole in this campaign: Strikingly could not trace whether all the referrals signup are actually the same person. So , what I did? I made 4 Google accounts (its free) and invite each of them. Basically, I own all the Google accounts. When I get the invitation, I signup to Strikingly using all my Google accounts and get 12 months Pro account for Free! I use that Pro account to build my startup landing page. You can check it here bit.ly/thefuudy.

My startup landing page built using Strinkingly Pro. Check it here bit.ly/thefuudy

The picture below clearly explain how I hack Strikingly. You can use this process to hack other website using referral campaign. The process is almost similar.

How I hack Strikingly process

But, I think Strikingly is not stupid. I think they “purposely” built this campaign for one reason: “To convert existing Free users into Pro user”. Let the Free users try the Pro account for Free, then when their pro account expired, a portion of them will pay to use the Pro account because they are too lazy to build a new website which cost time and money. They are already trapped in Strikingly ecosystem. I think this campaign works.

All in all, Strikingly is a good service. I build several landing pages using their service. It was beautifully design and most importantly you don’t need design skill to build it. You can check them out here www.strikingly.com.

And don’t forget to sign up for Fuudy waiting list. We are currently sending private invitations for users to test our app. You can sign up here bit.ly/thefuudy.

--

--