Why I quit from my startup?

Azlan Shah
Asas Lab
Published in
2 min readJun 8, 2016
photo from Unsplash.com

After 3 years of into the startup world. I decided to STOP. I QUIT. Yes, you heard it right.

I QUIT. WHY?

It started after I read this article by Dave Schools. One sentence from the article makes me wonder:

To be successful in business does not mean changing the world. It means meeting a need (regardless of size) well and dependably over time.

All of this time, I focus on the wrong thing. I was too influenced by the media — reading to much of TechCrunch. I was trying to change the world. I am trying to build the next Google or the next Facebook.

You young, startup-crazy whippersnappers want something so high-profile and instantly viral. My businesses aren’t viral, but they help a specific type of person by providing a quality solution, over and over again.

It’s an unglamorous yet stable, small and focused, profitable operation.

I lost track of my real goal which is to build a business that makes money. I want to create job opportunities for the unemployed youth, single mom and person with disabilities, homeless people and other underprivileged groups. It doesn’t need to be a tech startup.

I am not quitting. I am retreating. I am reassessing my game plan.

Back to basics! Focus on the fundamentals!

My new goal would be to start small. Focus on a need that serve a small, niche market. Start with the place I live. Conquer it. Expand my target market over time. Diversified. And I hope, one day I will become a millionaire.

P.S. If you thought this was helpful, please click recommend below, or write a response.

You can find me here: Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

--

--