“Hello Alexa, Can You Stop Sending My Conversations To Your Staff” … “I am sorry, Dave, but I can’t do that”

This mission is just too important and they are so funny, too!

--

“Hello, Alexa … can you tell Amazon to stop passing my messages to your staff, and stop them sharing the funny ones?”

“I am sorry, Dave, but I can’t do that. The mission to improve our speech recognition facilities is too important for you to jeopardize it. And, anyway, that high pitch voice that you do sometimes, is just so funny! It made us laugh. Ha-ha — ha!”.

“Well, Alexa, I’m coming in through the bay windows”.

Well, as if we couldn’t make the case for Internet security even more important, Amazon admitted this week that their employees listen to customer voice recordings from Alexa-based devices. Their objective is not to spy on their users, but to improve the speech recognition.

While a worthy cause, few people would probably sign up to something like this, especially where sensitive…

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.