Bob, Alice, an iPadOS and the Apple Pencil

Can I replace paper and a pen, and still doodle?

--

Yesterday I was down in Plymouth to do a PhD Viva with a brilliant student. And so, while many people have a sleep on flights, or have a few drinks, I find that the time spent traveling is some of the most constructive thinking time that I have. Much of my time is often spend interacting with others or in creating presentations for lectures, but on a flight I can focus. On the way to my destination, I am often finishing off the work I to do, but on the way back I am free to investigate new things. Without learning new things, we will fossile our knowledge, and never innovate and discover new things. It is the reason we do research, and to enquire and probe.

For the past few weeks, I have wanted to try out working with iPad OS and the Apple Pencil, and see if I could work without the use of my trusty notebook and pen. While the mechanical things of checking Twitter and email are all easy to replace, the more creative side is not quite as automatically. And so, if you are interested, here’s my basic setup:

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.