Creating A Scrambled Alphabet Challenge Generator In Ethereum and Solidity

--

I have ported my cipher challenge generators onto Ethereum, and where I want to be able to call up a smart contract and return a scrambled alphabet cipher. If you are interested, here’s my current one:

https://asecuritysite.com/cipher/scramb

Why? Well, I want to push myself to create truly distributed applications and find out how smart contracts work and what their limits are.

So, in the following, I have created a smart contract that will take an alphabetic array of “abcde…wzyz” and then randomly shuffle the letters to give a scrambled alphabet. A phrase is then mapped with the scrambled alphabet:

First, we enter the code into Remix and compile it:

Next, we start ganache for our local blockchain:

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.