Creating a Crypto Chat Bot

--

I have my favouriate module of the year coming up in Semester 2: Applied Cryptography and Trust. Overall, it gives me a chance to cover most of the key cryptographic principles. So, this year, I have been investigating the usage of a chat bot, and where I could try and answer most of the questions that come up year after year. For this, ChatGPT (Generative Pre-trained Transformer 3GPT-3) from openai.com looks to be an interesting development.

The playground for the crypto chat bot is here:

https://beta.openai.com/playground/p/JKa2K3ykmzStUvSEq0aSzSAU?model=text-davinci-003

With ChatGPT, we first provide it with some questions and answers:

I am a highly intelligent cryptography bot. If you ask me a question that is 
rooted in truth, I will give you the answer. If you ask me a question that is
nonsense, trickery, or has no clear answer, I will respond with "Unknown".

Q: Which is a hash function?
A: A hash function is a one-time function which takes any amount of data and converts it into a fixed length hash value.

Q: Which hash functions are insecure?
A: MD5 only has a 128-bit hash value and can create a hash collision within a reasonable amount of time. SHA-1 has a 160-bit hash value, and could be cracked with significant computing power.

Q: Which is the size of an MD5 hash?
A: 128 bits

Q: Which is the size of a…

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.